Cominos House - Arts and Environment Centre
Built in 1877 and now serves as both a museum and an arts and environment centre.

Cominos House is one of the oldest surviving houses in Cairns. Built in 1877, this typical Queenslander has been owned by pioneering and respected Cairns families - Alfred Street, Alderman of the first Cairns Council and pioneer of the region's coffee industry - George Cominos, a Greek migrant who opened an innovative cafe in Cairns and foresaw Cairns as a premier tourism destination. Cominos House was relocated to its present site in 1988, with the aim of restoring and maintaining the building for future generations. Displays showcase its history and the influence of the Cominos family and others in the development of Cairns. Opening times are generally business hours.

Image Gallery